DIGITAL AUTOMATIC COUPLING IN RAIL FREIGHT TRAFFIC

PILOT PROJECT FOR THE DEMONSTRATION, TESTING AND APPROVAL OF DIGITAL AUTOMATIC COUPLING (DAC) FOR RAIL FREIGHT TRAFFIC

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Digital automatic coupling in rail freight traffic:
six European partners form a consortium • Start of programme of testing digital automatic coupling

The European consortium DAC4EU (= Digital Automatic Coupling for Europe) is putting the use of digital automatic coupling (DAC) in rail freight traffic to the test. Six companies from Germany, Austria, Switzerland and France have been awarded a contract by Germany’s Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) to conduct a research project entitled ‘DAC Demonstrator for Rail Freight Traffic’. The members of the DAC4EU consortium are Deutsche Bahn and its subsidiary DB Cargo, the Swiss and Austrian freight operators SBB Cargo and Rail Cargo Austria, and the wagon keepers Ermewa, GATX Rail Europe and VTG. The BMVI has allocated approximately EUR 13 million in funding to the research project, which will run from June 2020 until December 2022.

The majority of freight wagons in rail traffic in Europe are currently coupled manually by means of screw couplings. With DAC, however, freight wagons can be coupled automatically together with their air brake pipes as well as power and data lines for the freight wagons. DAC is a key component of digitalising and automating rail freight traffic as it allows for universal power and data lines across all freight wagons. In addition, the use of DAC significantly increases infrastructure capacities, and as such DAC has an important part to play in European climate targets being achieved.

Following the first step of fitting twelve freight and tank wagons belonging to DB Cargo and GATX with coupling prototypes developed by various manufacturers, a comprehensive programme of coupling testing was initiated in October. Every coupling will undergo 440 individual tests ranging from coupling attempts at varying speeds to tests performed in a climate chamber.

Upon completion of the tests, the test results will be passed on to the European DAC Delivery Programme (EDDP) and will play a part in the EDDP’s decision-making process regarding the selection of a particular coupling design.

In the subsequent phase of the research project, the DAC4EU consortium will test the coupling design selected by the EDDP in Germany, Switzerland and Austria as well as in other European countries, which are yet to be selected.

The aim of the DAC Demonstrator pilot project for the demonstration, testing and approval of digital automatic coupling (DAC) for rail freight traffic is for a coupling design to be selected which can then be rolled out throughout Europe. DAC will pave the way for the comprehensive automation and digitalisation of rail freight traffic in Europe.

Find out more details about the DAC Demonstrator research project for rail freight traffic on the following pages.

Project Information [PDF 2.8 MB]

Digitale Automatische Kupplungen
Im Schienengüter­verkehr

Pilotprojekt zur Demonstration, Erprobung und Zulassung der Digitalen Automatischen Kupplung (DAK) für den Schienen­güterverkehr

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Die Digitale Automatische Kupplung im Schienengüterverkehr:
Sechs europäische Partner bilden Konsortium • Start des Testprogramms Digitaler Automatischer Kupplungen

Das europäische Konsortium DAC4EU (=Digital Automatic Coupling for Europe) testet den Einsatz der Digitalen Automatischen Kupplung (DAK) im Schienengüterverkehr. Dafür haben sechs Unternehmen aus Deutschland, Österreich, der Schweiz und Frankreich den Zuschlag für das Forschungsprojekt „DAK Demonstrator für den Schienengüterverkehr“ des deutschen Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) erhalten. Mitglieder des Konsortiums DAC4EU sind die Deutsche Bahn und ihre Tochter DB Cargo, die schweizerische und die österreichische Güterbahn SBB Cargo und Rail Cargo Austria sowie die Wagenhalter Ermewa, GATX Rail Europe und VTG. Das Forschungsprojekt wird vom BMVI mit rund 13 Mio. EUR finanziert und läuft von Juni 2020 bis Dezember 2022.

In Europa werden Güterwagen im Schienenverkehr bisher überwiegend mit Schraubenkupplungen per Hand gekuppelt. Mit einer DAK hingegen können Güterwagen automatisch gekuppelt werden, mitsamt ihrer Luftleitungen für die Bremsen und mitsamt Strom- und Datenleitung auf den Güterwagen. Durch die Ermöglichung einer durchgängigen Strom- und Datenleitung über alle Güterwagen ist die DAK ein wesentlicher Baustein für die Digitalisierung und Automatisierung des Schienengüterverkehrs. Weiterhin lassen sich durch den Einsatz der DAK die Infrastrukturkapazitäten deutlich erhöhen, weshalb die DAK als wichtiger Baustein zur Erreichung der europäischen Klimaziele gilt.

Nachdem im ersten Schritt 12 Güter- und Kesselwagen von DB Cargo und GATX mit Kupplungs-Prototypen verschiedener Hersteller ausgerüstet wurden, ist im Oktober nunmehr ein umfangreiches Testprogramm mit den Kupplungen begonnen worden. Jede Kupplung durchläuft dabei 440 Einzeltests, welche von Kuppelversuchen bei unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeiten bis hin zu Untersuchungen in der Klimakammer reicht.

Nach Beendigung der Tests werden die Testergebnisse dem European DAC Delivery Program (EDDP) übergeben und fließen in die Auswahlentscheidung des EDDP für ein Kupplungsdesign mit ein.

In der anschließenden Phase des Forschungsprojekts erfolgt durch das Konsortium DAC4EU die Betriebserprobung des vom EDDP ausgewählten Kupplungsdesigns in Deutschland, in der Schweiz und in Österreich und ggf. weiteren Ländern.

Ziel des DAK-Demonstrator-Pilotprojekts zur Demonstration, Erprobung und Zulassung der Digitalen Automatischen Kupplung (DAK) für den Schienengüterverkehr ist die Auswahl eines Kupplungsdesigns für eine europaweite flächendeckende Einführung vorzubereiten. Mit der DAK öffnet sich die Tür zu einer umfassenden Automatisierung und Digitalisierung des Schienengüterverkehrs in Europa.

Erfahren Sie auf den Folgeseiten mehr Details zum Forschungsprojekt DAK Demonstrator für den Schienengüterverkehr.